The Nigeria Football Federation has released the set of players invited by super eagles Gaffer to prosecute the 2021 afcon qualifiers by given a first time call up to the Top scorer in the Dutch Eredivisie Cyriel Dessers and FC Koln’s Kingsley Ehizibue are among the Super Eagles 24-man squad for this month’s 2021 AFCON qualifying double-header against Sierra-Leone, reports.

This will be the first Super Eagles call up for both Dessers and Ehizibue.

Dessers, 26, who has a Belgian father and a Nigerian mother, had already declared his interest to represent Nigeria.He has been in superlative form recently and has captured the attention of the Nigerian media. Dessers himself in a recent interview believes that playing for Nigeria will boost his soccer career noting that invitation to any national team does not come on a platter and should be celebrated when it comes.

Ehizibue who was born in Munich, Germany, qualifies to play for Nigeria through his father.

The 24-year-old plays as a right-back and has featured 21 times for FC Koln in the Bundesliga this season.

Among other regulars who made the list are Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Daniel Akpeyi, Wilfred Ndidi, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun and Victor Osimhen.

Also invited are Samuel Chukwueze, Semi Ajayi, Shehu Abdullahi, Moses Simon, Joe Aribo, Ola Aina, Kelechi Iheanacho and Oghenekaro Etebo who are both making a return to the team.

The game comes up inside the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba on March 27 while the reverse fixture is billed for Freetown five days later.

The Eagles lead Group L with six points after winning their openong two games against Benin Republic and Lesotho.

Super Eagles team list for Sierra Leone 2021 AFCON clash:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Wigan Athletic, England); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyril Dessers (Heracles Almelo, The Netherlands); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here