Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes has been named in the BBC’s Premier League team of the year, despite having played just five games in the competition.

The Portuguese star has admittedly made a superb start to life in England following his January arrival from Sporting Lisbon, but his inclusion in the fan-voted team ahead of the likes of Jack Grealish and James Maddison will have raised more than a few eyebrows.

Liverpool players unsurprisingly dominated the line-up, with seven of Jurgen Klopp’s men included in the final selection, while Manchester City were the only other club with multiple players represented, with two.

Leicester defender Caglar Soyuncu was, along with Fernandes, the only other player from outside of the top two to make the XI, joined in the backline by Liverpool trio Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk and Andrew Robertson, with their clubmate Alisson in goal.

Read Also: FIFA to probe Bruno Fernandes’ move to Manchester United

Liverpool skipper and winner of the player of the year award Jordan Henderson slotted into midfield alongside Fernandes and Man City star Kevin De Bruyne.

Up front, Sergio Aguero got the nod ahead of Leicester’s Jamie Vardy, with Liverpool pair Mo Salah and Sadio Mane on the flanks.

BBC Premier League team of the year
GK – Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
RB – Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
CB – Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool)
CB – Caglar Soyuncu (Leicester)
LB – Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)
CM – Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
CM – Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
CM – Bruno Fernandes (Man Utd)
LW – Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
ST – Sergio Aguero (Man City)
RW – Mo Salah (Liverpool)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here